
To pay for medical weight loss you can use a healthcare card such as CareCredit, a buy now, pay later loan, a practice payment plan, or cash and HSA or FSA funds. A main risk is deferred interest: interest charged from the purchase date if a promotional balance is not cleared in time, which the CFPB found happened on 20 percent of healthcare purchases using deferred-interest products [1]. Get terms in writing, and a licensed clinician decides treatment first.
Key takeaways
- Deferred interest is back-charged from the purchase date if a promotional balance remains at the end; a true 0% APR does not work that way [2][3].
- Regulation Z's commentary says the deferred-interest payoff date must appear on each periodic statement during the promotion [5].
- Colorado's HB23-1126 bars consumer reporting agencies from including adverse medical-debt information, but we could not confirm it covers bank-issued medical cards, and a 2025 CFPB interpretive rule takes the view that federal law generally preempts such state laws [17][21].
- BNPL loans are typically not reported to credit bureaus, and the CFPB withdrew its 2024 BNPL interpretive rule on May 12, 2025 [8][9].
- HSA or FSA funds can cover weight-loss treatment for a physician-diagnosed disease such as obesity, not general-health programs [14].
What financing options exist for medical weight loss in Highlands Ranch?
The usual options are a healthcare credit card, a buy now, pay later (BNPL) loan, a payment plan with the practice, or paying directly with cash, an HSA or an FSA. Each puts a different party on the other side of the contract, and that party sets the terms, not the clinic's wellness team.
Healthy Weight Loss 4 U's website states that its Highlands Ranch clinic offers financing through CareCredit and in-house payment plans, and does not list BNPL. This article does not describe the practice's rates, payments or plan terms. Lender terms are set by the lender and are subject to credit approval, and approval is not guaranteed.
Clinical decisions come first: every program starts with an evaluation by a licensed clinician, who decides what is appropriate. The sections below are for comparing ways to pay once you know the plan and the total cost.
Source: [7] CFPB, news release on BNPL and other unsecured debt (Jan 2025)
What is the difference between deferred interest and a true 0% APR?
With deferred interest, interest is calculated from the day of purchase but waived only if you pay the full balance by the end of the promotion. With a true 0% APR, no interest accrues during the promotional term at all, so missing the end date does not trigger a back charge.
CareCredit, which is issued by Synchrony Bank, describes its short-term promotional plans in deferred-interest terms: no interest if the full balance is paid during the promotional period, and if it is not, interest is charged from the original purchase date [2]. Its cardholder agreement says the same, and adds that minimum payments may not be enough to pay the promotional balance before the promotion ends [3]. It also describes longer fixed-payment plans with a reduced rate, which work differently from a deferred-interest promotion [2].
Federal advertising rules for deferred-interest programs require a statement that interest will be charged from the date you became obligated if the balance is not paid in full within the deferred interest period [4]. If a promotion is presented to you with only the 'no interest' half of that sentence, ask for the other half.
What happens when a promotional period ends with a balance left?
Interest is added for the entire promotional period, charged at the card's standard rate, and the account then continues at that rate. Under CareCredit's published terms, if a promotional balance is not paid in full within the promotional period, interest is charged from the purchase date at the standard purchase rate for new purchases [3].
The agreement also lists other costs: a minimum interest charge, a late payment fee, and a higher penalty rate that can apply after a late payment [3]. Check your own agreement for the current numbers, because they can change.
You do not have to rely on memory for the deadline. Regulation Z's official commentary says the date by which the balance must be paid to avoid deferred interest must appear on the front of any page of each periodic statement issued during the deferred interest period [5]. Put that date in a calendar when the account opens, and pay more than the minimum if the minimum would not clear the balance in time.
What do CFPB reports say about medical cards and BNPL?
For medical cards, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) reported that between 2015 and 2020 people incurred interest on 20 percent of their healthcare purchases made with deferred-interest cards or loans, and about 34 percent for those with credit scores below 619 [1]. From 2018 to 2020 people paid $1 billion in deferred interest on almost $23 billion of healthcare expenses charged with deferred-interest terms [1]. The report also noted that promotion payoff rates stayed just under 80 percent from 2018 to 2020, so most promotions were paid in time [1].
For BNPL, a January 2025 CFPB study of 2022 data reported that 21.2 percent of consumers with a credit record used BNPL, about 63 percent of borrowers held multiple simultaneous BNPL loans at some point in the year, and 33 percent borrowed from more than one lender [7]. Among applicants with subprime or deep subprime scores, BNPL lenders approved 78 percent of loans in 2022 [7]. The study sampled six firms: Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna, PayPal, Sezzle and Zip [7].
A December 2025 CFPB report on 2023 data found that 4.1 percent of BNPL loans were assessed a late fee in 2023, down from 5.2 percent in 2022, among the four sampled lenders that charged late fees; the report says the sample is not necessarily representative of the whole market [10]. None of these figures are specific to weight-loss care, and none predict how any individual's financing would go.
Is buy now, pay later regulated after 2025?
Less than credit cards are, as far as federal rules go. In 2024 the CFPB issued an interpretive rule applying Regulation Z's credit card rules to some BNPL products, and the CFPB's BNPL compliance page states that on May 12, 2025 it withdrew several guidance documents, including that rule [9].
We did not find a later federal BNPL rule, and could not verify whether a Colorado statute specifically regulates BNPL. For pay-in-four loans, the CFPB's 2022 report describes returns as a contact-the-merchant process and notes that a merchant dispute may not be resolved within a six-week loan term [6]. If your treatment is paid over visits, ask how a refund or a paused plan would reach the lender.
How do these options affect your credit, and what does Colorado law add?
A formal credit card application is generally a hard inquiry that the CFPB says may affect your credit score [11]. CareCredit's FAQ says prequalifying has no impact to a credit bureau score [2]. Ask which step you are about to take. FICO says payment history is 35 percent of a score and amounts owed 30 percent, so missed payments and high balances matter after approval [12].
BNPL is treated differently. The CFPB says lenders have typically not reported BNPL loans to the nationwide consumer reporting companies [8]. FICO announced BNPL-inclusive scores in June 2025, offered side-by-side with existing versions, so lenders are not required to use them [13].
Colorado law adds one specific protection. HB23-1126, signed June 5, 2023, bars consumer reporting agencies from including adverse information concerning medical debt in consumer reports, with an exception for certain credit transactions above the national conforming loan limit for a one-unit property [17]. It defines medical debt as debt arising from health-care services or health-care goods, and bars collectors from falsely or misleadingly saying medical debt will appear on a report or affect a score [17]. Whether a balance on a bank-issued medical credit card counts as medical debt under that definition is not something we could confirm, so do not assume a missed payment on any card stays off your report.
Federal policy adds uncertainty. In an October 28, 2025 interpretive rule, the CFPB took the position that the Fair Credit Reporting Act generally preempts state laws that keep entire categories of information, such as medical debt, off consumer reports. The rule says courts are the ultimate arbiters of preemption and that it does not change the legal status of any state law [21]. We could not determine how that position affects HB23-1126, so confirm its current status with the Colorado Attorney General or an attorney.
How do you check HSA or FSA eligibility before paying?
Check the tax rule first, then your plan's paperwork rule, then the date rule. IRS Publication 502 says you can include amounts paid to lose weight if it is a treatment for a specific disease diagnosed by a physician, such as obesity, hypertension or heart disease [14]. It also says you cannot include the cost of a weight-loss program for the improvement of appearance, general health or sense of well-being, nor membership dues in a gym, health club or spa, and diet food counts only in limited circumstances [14].
Next, ask your plan administrator what proof it wants. An FSA administrator form we reviewed requires a physician-signed letter of medical necessity with a diagnosis for certain items, naming weight-loss programs, and states it is valid for one year from signature [16]. The IRS publications do not use that term, so requirements vary by plan.
Finally, watch the dates and penalties. HSA expenses incurred before the HSA was established are not qualified, and HSA distributions not used for qualified expenses are taxable plus an additional 20 percent tax, which does not apply after age 65, disability or death [15]. Pub 502 also says cosmetic surgery generally is not a medical expense, so confirm any body contouring purchase separately [14]. This is not tax advice.
How do the four options compare?
The table compares features, not prices. 'Varies' means the answer is in the agreement you are offered.
| Item | Healthcare credit card | BNPL loan | In-house plan | Cash, HSA or FSA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other party to the contract | Synchrony Bank for CareCredit [2][3] | A BNPL company | Typically the practice; confirm | None |
| Cost trap to watch | Deferred interest if the balance is not cleared [3] | Late fees and stacked loans [7][10] | Varies; ask | Ineligible spending on an HSA is taxed [15] |
| Credit file effect | Hard inquiry on full application; prequalify step differs [2][11] | Typically not reported [8] | Varies; ask | None |
| Paperwork | Cardholder agreement and periodic statements [3][5] | App terms, no federal card-style protections confirmed [9] | Written payment agreement | Administrator form or physician letter possible [16] |
| Best question to ask | What is the exact payoff date? | What happens to the loan if a service is refunded? | What are the early-payoff and refund terms? | Does my plan accept this expense? |
What should you ask before you sign?
Group the questions into cost, credit and exit, and get written answers.
- Cost: Is the promotion deferred interest or true 0% APR? What are the standard rate, penalty rate, late fee and minimum interest charge? Do minimum payments clear the balance in time?
- Credit: Is this a prequalification or a full application? Will it be a hard inquiry? Will payments be reported?
- Exit: Can I pay early without a penalty? What happens to the financing if treatment stops, changes or is refunded? Who handles a dispute, the practice or the lender?
- Total: Is the full cost, including visits, labs and medications, written before I finance?
What are the red flags?
Walk away or slow down if staff push you to sign the day you ask, cannot explain deferred interest, offer financing before a clinician has evaluated you, or tie financing to a promise of guaranteed results. The CFPB's report found that many medical card users were surprised to be charged interest on the original purchase after a promotion ended [1].
What this means in practice
Work in this order: clinician evaluation, written total cost, eligibility check for HSA or FSA funds, then the financing comparison. If you use a promotional card, consider noting the payoff date in your calendar and whether payments sized to clear the balance fit your budget; this is not financial advice. Keep every agreement and statement.
What are the limits of this guide?
This is general consumer education, not legal, tax or financial advice. We did not review the practice's financing agreements, and lender terms and BNPL rules can change. Confirm current terms with the lender and plan administrator, and consider asking a licensed attorney or tax professional.
What this means in Highlands Ranch
Colorado's HB23-1126, effective August 7, 2023, prohibits consumer reporting agencies from including adverse information about medical debt in consumer reports, with an exception for certain high-value credit transactions [17]. A separate federal CFPB rule on medical debt in credit reports was vacated by a federal court in the Eastern District of Texas on July 11, 2025, upon the joint request of the CFPB and the plaintiffs, so that federal rule is not in effect [18]. The CFPB's October 2025 interpretive rule also states a non-binding position that federal law generally preempts state laws keeping medical debt off consumer reports; courts decide preemption, and we could not determine its effect on HB23-1126 [21]. The Colorado Attorney General's Consumer Protection Section enforces the Colorado Consumer Protection Act, has a unit that investigates lenders and debt collectors, and takes complaints at coag.gov/file-complaint, with general questions at (720) 508-6000 [19]. The CFPB also accepts complaints about credit cards and debt collection [20]. This is not legal advice.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between deferred interest and 0% APR?
What happens if I miss the end of a CareCredit promotion?
Will applying for financing lower my credit score?
Does Colorado law keep medical debt off my credit report?
Is a weight-loss program eligible for my HSA or FSA?
Are buy now, pay later loans a good fit for ongoing treatment?
Sources
- Medical Credit Cards and Financing Plans. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2023. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_medical-credit-cards-and-fi
- CareCredit FAQ. CareCredit (Synchrony), 2026. carecredit.com/faq/
- CareCredit credit card cardholder agreement terms. CareCredit (Synchrony Bank), 2026. carecredit.com/YourTerms/
- 12 CFR 1026.16 Advertising (Regulation Z). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/16/
- 12 CFR 1026.7 Periodic statement (Regulation Z) and official commentary. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/7/
- Buy Now, Pay Later: Market trends and consumer impacts. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2022. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_buy-now-pay-later-market-tr
- CFPB Research Reveals Heavy Buy Now, Pay Later Use Among Borrowers with High Credit Balances and Multiple Pay-in-Four Loans. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/archive/newsroom/cfpb-research-reveals-heavy-buy-n
- Consumer Use of Buy Now, Pay Later and Other Unsecured Debt. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/consumer-use-of-buy
- Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) products (compliance resources). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/compliance/compliance-resources/consumer-cards-res
- Buy Now, Pay Later market report (December 2025). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_bnpl-market-report_2025-12.
- When can a credit card company look at my credit reports?. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/when-can-a-credit-card-company-look-at-my
- What's in my FICO Scores?. myFICO, 2026. myfico.com/credit-education/whats-in-your-credit-score
- FICO Unveils Groundbreaking Credit Scores That Incorporate Buy Now Pay Later Data. FICO, 2025. investors.fico.com/news-releases/news-release-details/fico-unveils-gro
- Publication 502 (2025), Medical and Dental Expenses. Internal Revenue Service, 2025. irs.gov/publications/p502
- Publication 969, Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans. Internal Revenue Service, 2025. irs.gov/publications/p969
- Letter of Medical Necessity Form (flexible spending account administrator form). P&A Group, hosted by NC Office of State Human Resources, n.d.. oshr.nc.gov/media/3330/open
- HB23-1126 Consumer Reports Not Include Medical Debt Information. Colorado General Assembly, 2023. leg.colorado.gov/bills/hb23-1126
- Prohibition on Creditors and Consumer Reporting Agencies Concerning Medical Information (Regulation V). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/final-rules/prohibition-on-creditors-
- Consumer Protection Section. Colorado Attorney General, 2026. coag.gov/office-sections/consumer-protection/
- Submit a complaint. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/complaint/
- Fair Credit Reporting Act; Preemption of State Laws (interpretive rule, 90 FR 48710). Federal Register (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau), 2025. federalregister.gov/documents/2025/10/28/2025-19671/fair-credit-report
Keep reading
How to Choose a Medical Weight Loss Clinic: 12 Questions
Read →Who Qualifies for Medical Weight Loss? BMI and FDA Criteria
Read →Brand-Name vs Compounded GLP-1 Drugs: What the FDA Says
Read →truSculpt iD RF Body Contouring: What It Is Cleared For
Read →Questions about your own situation? A clinician can review your history and goals.