
Common ways to pay for medical weight loss are a healthcare credit card such as CareCredit, a buy now, pay later loan, a practice payment plan, or cash and HSA or FSA funds. A main risk is missing the end of a deferred-interest promotion: the CFPB found people incurred interest on 20 percent of healthcare purchases made with deferred-interest cards or loans [1]. Compare written terms, and treatment decisions are made by a licensed clinician first.
Key takeaways
- Deferred interest means interest accrues from the purchase date and is added if the promotional balance is not cleared by the deadline [2][3].
- The CFPB found interest was incurred on 20 percent of healthcare purchases on deferred-interest cards or loans, 2015 to 2020 [1].
- BNPL loans are typically not reported to credit bureaus, and the CFPB withdrew its 2024 BNPL interpretive rule on May 12, 2025 [7][8].
- HSA and FSA use depends on IRS medical-expense rules: weight-loss treatment of a physician-diagnosed disease such as obesity can qualify, general-health programs cannot [13].
- Ask whether a step is a prequalification or a hard inquiry, and get all terms in writing before you sign.
What are the ways to pay for medical weight loss in Lighthouse Point?
There are four common routes: a healthcare credit card such as CareCredit, a buy now, pay later (BNPL) loan, a payment plan offered directly by the practice, and paying with cash or tax-advantaged health account funds. They differ mainly in who the lender is, when interest can be charged, and what happens if you miss a payment or stop treatment.
Healthy Weight Loss 4 U's website states that it offers financing through CareCredit and in-house payment plans. It does not list BNPL as an option, so the BNPL section below is general consumer information. This article does not describe the practice's rates, payments or plan terms. Terms are set by the lender and are subject to credit approval, and approval is not guaranteed.
Treatment decisions come first. Every program begins with a clinician evaluation, and a licensed clinician decides what, if anything, is appropriate for you. Compare financing after you know what is recommended and the total cost.
Source: [1] CFPB, Medical Credit Cards and Financing Plans (2023)
How does a healthcare credit card like CareCredit work?
CareCredit is a credit card issued by Synchrony Bank that you can use at enrolled providers. Its main feature is promotional financing: no interest is charged if you pay the full promotional balance by the end of the promotional period, and if you do not, interest is charged from the original purchase date [2][3].
That second rule is what people call deferred interest. CareCredit's own FAQ describes it this way: short-term promotional plans carry no interest if the balance is paid in full during the promotional period, but if it is not, interest is charged from the original purchase date, and minimum monthly payments are required [2]. CareCredit also describes longer fixed-payment plans that carry a reduced rate rather than a no-interest promotion [2]. Available plans depend on the provider, the purchase and your approval.
The difference between deferred interest and a true 0% APR loan matters. With a true 0% loan, interest never accrues during the term, so a leftover balance at the end starts accruing interest only from that point. With deferred interest, interest quietly accumulates in the background from day one and is added if any balance remains when the promotion ends. Federal rules require advertisements for deferred-interest programs to state that interest will be charged from the date you became obligated if the balance is not paid in full within the deferred interest period [4].
The cardholder agreement spells out the consequences. If a promotional balance is not paid in full within the promotional period, interest is charged from the purchase date at the standard purchase rate for new purchases. The agreement also lists a minimum interest charge, a late payment fee, and a higher penalty rate that can be applied after a late payment [3]. The current figures are in the agreement you receive, not in this article. The agreement also notes that minimum payments may not be enough to clear the promotional balance before the promotion ends [3]. A practical check is to divide the total purchase by the number of promotional months and compare that to the minimum payment on your statement.
What has the CFPB found about deferred-interest medical credit cards?
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) found that people incurred interest on 20 percent of their healthcare purchases made with deferred-interest cards or loans between 2015 and 2020, and about 34 percent for people with credit scores below 619 [1]. People paid $1 billion in deferred interest on these healthcare charges from 2018 to 2020, on almost $23 billion in healthcare expenses charged with deferred-interest terms [1].
The same report describes how these products reach patients. It states that these products are often offered by a trusted doctor or nurse in a doctor's office or hospital, and cites a New York Attorney General filing stating that 65 percent of medical credit cards are signed in providers' offices [1]. Many users were surprised to be charged interest on the original purchase amount after a promotion ended [1].
These are findings about the product category, not about any one clinic or lender, and most cardholders in the data paid off their promotions in time: the promotion payoff rate stayed just under 80 percent from 2018 to 2020 [1]. If you use one, plan the payoff so it does not depend on remembering the end date.
How do buy now, pay later loans work, and are they regulated?
A typical BNPL loan splits a purchase into a short series of payments. The CFPB defines the common 'pay-in-four' product as a four-installment, no-interest loan, typically with a 25 percent down payment and the rest due at two-week intervals over six weeks [5]. Providers have also expanded into longer-term installment loans [9], so terms beyond pay-in-four need to be read separately. The CFPB's 2025 study sampled six firms (Affirm, Afterpay, Klarna, PayPal, Sezzle and Zip), and its data are not specific to healthcare [6].
Late fees and disputes are the main practical points. In the CFPB's December 2025 report, 4.1 percent of loans in 2023 were assessed a late fee among the four sampled lenders that charged late fees, and the report says the sample is not necessarily representative of the whole market [9]. On returns, the CFPB's 2022 report found that lenders told borrowers to contact the merchant, and that a merchant dispute may not be resolved within a six-week loan term [5]. For a medical service that is delivered in visits over time, ask how a refund or a stopped plan would work before you finance it.
On regulation, the CFPB issued a 2024 interpretive rule that treated some BNPL products as credit cards under Regulation Z. The CFPB's BNPL page states that on May 12, 2025, it withdrew several guidance documents, including that rule [8]. We could not verify any later federal BNPL rulemaking as of today, so treat federal BNPL protections as less settled than those for credit cards. We also could not verify a Florida statute that specifically regulates BNPL.
How does financing affect your credit score?
A formal application for a credit card is generally a hard inquiry, which the CFPB says appears on your credit report and may affect your credit score [11]. Prequalifying is different: CareCredit's FAQ says prequalifying has no impact to a credit bureau score [2]. Because those statements describe different steps, ask the lender which step you are completing and whether a hard inquiry will be made before you submit.
After approval, how you use the account matters more. FICO says payment history is 35 percent of a score, amounts owed 30 percent and new credit 10 percent for the general population [12]. A large balance relative to the limit or a missed payment can hurt a score.
BNPL has been mostly invisible to scores so far. The CFPB notes that lenders have typically not reported BNPL loans to the nationwide consumer reporting companies [7]. In June 2025 FICO announced FICO Score 10 BNPL scores that incorporate BNPL data, to be offered alongside existing versions, so lenders are not required to use them [10]. We could not verify how widely lenders have adopted them.
Can you use an HSA or FSA for medical weight loss?
Sometimes. IRS Publication 502 says you can include amounts you pay to lose weight if it is a treatment for a specific disease diagnosed by a physician, such as obesity, hypertension or heart disease, but not the cost of a weight-loss program for the improvement of appearance, general health or sense of well-being [13]. Gym membership dues are not includible and diet food counts only in limited circumstances, but prescribed medicines can be included [13].
HSAs and health FSAs use these medical-expense rules, and plan administrators set their own paperwork. An administrator form we reviewed requires a physician-completed letter of medical necessity that includes a diagnosis for certain items, and notes that weight-loss programs are in that category [16]. The IRS publications do not use that term, so ask your own plan what it requires.
Know the downside of getting it wrong. For an HSA, amounts not used for qualified medical expenses are taxable, with an additional 20 percent tax before age 65 unless you are disabled [14]. The 2026 health FSA salary reduction limit is $3,400, with a $680 maximum carryover if the plan allows carryover [15]. If you pay out of pocket, medical expenses are deductible only if you itemize and only the part above 7.5 percent of adjusted gross income [13]. Pub 502 also says cosmetic surgery generally is not a medical expense, so body contouring is a question for your plan administrator or tax professional [13]. This is not tax advice.
How do the options compare?
The table compares features, not prices. Anything shown as 'varies' depends on the agreement you are offered, so read it before signing.
| Feature | Healthcare credit card (CareCredit) | BNPL loan | In-house payment plan | Cash, HSA or FSA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who the lender is | Synchrony Bank [2][3] | A BNPL company; varies | Typically the practice itself; confirm | No lender |
| How interest works | Promotional periods may use deferred interest [2][3] | Pay-in-four is typically no-interest; longer-term loans have separate terms [5][9] | Varies; ask | None |
| Credit check | Prequalify step is described as no credit score impact; a full application is a hard inquiry [2][11] | Often a soft pull for approval [5] | Varies; ask | None |
| Reported to credit bureaus | Check the agreement | Typically not reported [7] | Varies; ask | No |
| Late consequences | Late fee and higher penalty rate possible [3] | Late fees are common [9] | Varies; ask | Not applicable |
| Refunds if treatment stops | Handled between you, provider and issuer; ask in advance | Contact the merchant; disputes can outlast the loan [5] | Set by the practice's agreement; ask | Set by the practice's policy; ask |
| Main risk | Missing the promotional deadline [1] | Stacking several loans [6] | Unclear terms or early-payoff rules | Using funds for ineligible expenses [14] |
What should you ask before signing any financing agreement?
Get the answers in writing and read them before you sign. Use this list at the visit or by phone:
- Is this a prequalification or a full application, and will a hard inquiry be made?
- Is the promotion deferred interest or true 0% APR, and what is the exact end date?
- What is the standard rate, penalty rate, late fee and minimum interest charge if the balance is not cleared?
- Do the minimum payments clear the balance by the end of the promotion, or do I need to pay more each month?
- Can I pay early without a penalty?
- What happens to the financing if I stop treatment, the practice changes the plan, or I am due a refund?
- Who do I contact if I dispute a charge: the practice, the lender, or both?
- Is the total cost, including all visits, labs and medications, written down before I finance?
What are the red flags?
Slow down if you see any of these.
- Pressure to sign financing at the visit, or a 'today only' deadline
- Vague or verbal-only terms, or no time to read them
- Staff who cannot explain the difference between deferred interest and true 0% APR
- An offer to finance before a clinician has evaluated you
- Any promise of guaranteed results used to justify the financing
What this means in practice
Decide on treatment with a clinician first, then price the total cost, then compare ways to pay. If you use a promotional card, consider whether payments sized to clear the balance before the end date, rather than the minimum, fit your budget; this is not financial advice. If you have an HSA or FSA, ask your plan administrator what documentation it needs before you spend the funds.
What are the limits of this guide?
This guide is general consumer education, not legal, tax or financial advice. Lender terms change, we did not review the practice's financing agreements, and federal BNPL rules were in flux in 2025. Verify current terms directly with the lender and plan administrator, and consider asking a licensed attorney or tax professional about your situation.
What this means in Lighthouse Point
Florida's Consumer Collection Practices Act covers any person collecting a consumer debt, defined as any obligation or alleged obligation of a consumer to pay money arising from a transaction primarily for personal, family or household purposes, and its definition of creditor includes anyone to whom a debt is owed [17][18]. It prohibits, among other things, willfully communicating with a debtor with a frequency that can reasonably be expected to harass, communicating with the debtor between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m. in the debtor's time zone without the debtor's consent, and claiming or enforcing a debt the collector knows is not legitimate or asserting a legal right the collector knows does not exist [18]. A separate 2024 Florida law (HB 7089, effective July 1, 2024) set a 3-year limitations period for medical debt collection actions and addressed collection activities by licensed facilities [19]. We could not confirm that those provisions reach a weight-loss clinic or a bank-issued medical card. The Florida Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division enforces the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act and lists (850) 414-3300 as its phone number, and the CFPB accepts complaints about credit cards and debt collection [20][21]. This is not legal advice.
Frequently asked questions
Is CareCredit a 0% APR loan?
What happens if I do not pay off the promotional balance in time?
Does financing weight-loss treatment hurt my credit score?
Can I use my HSA or FSA for medical weight loss?
Are buy now, pay later loans safer than a medical credit card?
How are in-house payment plans different from CareCredit?
Sources
- Medical Credit Cards and Financing Plans. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2023. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_medical-credit-cards-and-fi
- CareCredit FAQ. CareCredit (Synchrony), 2026. carecredit.com/faq/
- CareCredit credit card cardholder agreement terms. CareCredit (Synchrony Bank), 2026. carecredit.com/YourTerms/
- 12 CFR 1026.16 Advertising (Regulation Z). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1026/16/
- Buy Now, Pay Later: Market trends and consumer impacts. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2022. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_buy-now-pay-later-market-tr
- CFPB Research Reveals Heavy Buy Now, Pay Later Use Among Borrowers with High Credit Balances and Multiple Pay-in-Four Loans. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/archive/newsroom/cfpb-research-reveals-heavy-buy-n
- Consumer Use of Buy Now, Pay Later and Other Unsecured Debt. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/consumer-use-of-buy
- Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) products (compliance resources). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. consumerfinance.gov/compliance/compliance-resources/consumer-cards-res
- Buy Now, Pay Later market report (December 2025). Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2025. files.consumerfinance.gov/f/documents/cfpb_bnpl-market-report_2025-12.
- FICO Unveils Groundbreaking Credit Scores That Incorporate Buy Now Pay Later Data. FICO, 2025. investors.fico.com/news-releases/news-release-details/fico-unveils-gro
- When can a credit card company look at my credit reports?. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/when-can-a-credit-card-company-look-at-my
- What's in my FICO Scores?. myFICO, 2026. myfico.com/credit-education/whats-in-your-credit-score
- Publication 502 (2025), Medical and Dental Expenses. Internal Revenue Service, 2025. irs.gov/publications/p502
- Publication 969, Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans. Internal Revenue Service, 2025. irs.gov/publications/p969
- IRS releases tax inflation adjustments for tax year 2026. Internal Revenue Service, 2025. irs.gov/newsroom/irs-releases-tax-inflation-adjustments-for-tax-year-2
- Letter of Medical Necessity Form (flexible spending account administrator form). P&A Group, hosted by NC Office of State Human Resources, n.d.. oshr.nc.gov/media/3330/open
- Florida Statutes 559.55 Definitions (Consumer Collection Practices Act). Florida Legislature, 2026. leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0
- Florida Statutes 559.72 Prohibited practices generally. Florida Legislature, 2026. leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0
- HB 7089 (2024) Transparency in Health and Human Services, Chapter 2024-183. The Florida Senate, 2024. flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2024/7089
- Consumer Protection Division. Florida Attorney General, 2026. myfloridalegal.com/consumer-protection
- Submit a complaint. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2026. consumerfinance.gov/complaint/
Keep reading
How to Choose a Medical Weight Loss Clinic: 12 Questions
Read →Who Qualifies for Medical Weight Loss? BMI and FDA Criteria
Read →Venus Bliss Max Body Sculpting: What It Does and Doesn't
Read →Weight Regain After Stopping GLP-1: What the Trials Show
Read →Questions about your own situation? A clinician can review your history and goals.